Costuming Lately Vol 8: Costume Design News April 2021

Including Gossip Girl 2.0, Award season preparations, and exploring Clueless’s icon status.

1. I’m already crying over the new Gossip Girl costuming, and its not even finished filming yet. Also, if you’re not already, Tyler McCall is a must follow if you love anything related to Gossip Girl (and she just started a newsletter about it!)

2. The accuracy of this video!

3. Sadly I’m not very up on my foreign films, but I loved Gabriella Paiella’s GQ piece about Pedro Almodóvar’s films and their abundance of color. A great read if you’re sick of anything related to minimalism.

4. It’s always a good time to talk about Mona May’s legacy in my opinion. In this Forbes article from Lela London, May talks about the Clueless Effect and how the movie impacted her career as a designer.

5. File this one under pieces I wish I wrote. Jokes aside, this is great work from Vanessa Friedman on the power and influence of costume designers on fashion and buying habits.

6. This is not really costuming related, but I love this video from Jordan O’Brien (and I love Harry Styles and basically everything he wears.)

7. Are you an award season person? I haven’t watched any ceremonies this year, but I’m curious to see who’ll take the costume design category at the Oscars. My bet’s on Emma. And here’s an interesting look from Liam Hess at what the nominations say about our culture.

8. In another awards news, you can check out the Costume Designer Guild Award Nominations right here.

9. I feel like TV has done much more interesting work this past year than film. And this piece from Fawnia Soo Hoo asks nominated designers to explain their most memorable pieces (and the most difficult ones) of their shows.

Leave a comment